POTW #6: Check out the Proboscis on this guy

Hecale Longwing (Heliconius hecale)

I was in San Francisco this past week for the American Geophysical Union “fall” meeting to present some results and a proposal, and Beth and I took one afternoon to go to the California Academy of Sciences Museum. This place was amazing, and as icing on the cake, it happened to be “free day” because we went on the third Wednesday of the month. This butterfly was one of many amazing sights we saw in the museum. Hopefully I’ll have time to blog about more of the week in a few days. As I write, I am sitting and waiting for a delayed flight in the Akron/Canton airport in Ohio; I stopped by Ohio to visit my family for a few days. I love small airports with free wifi. Time to board…

Explore posts in the same categories: From the Road, Nature, Photo of the Week, Pictures

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “POTW #6: Check out the Proboscis on this guy”

  1. Yi-Min Huang Says:

    Nice shot!

    • bpatricksullivan Says:

      Thanks! I’ll be back in the office tomorrow. Had the dentist then car problems today. Are you still around?


Leave a Reply

