Mom’s (Christmas) Socks Finished!

Okay, so, I know you’re thinking, “Christmas!? It’s past St. Patrick’s Day already, Brian!” But fear not, these socks have been done for weeks and the pictures were just stuck on an SD card while I was SD-card-readerless. But here they are:

Tech specs: The pattern is Sugar Maple from the book, 2-at-Once Socks by Melissa Morgan-Oakes. All the socks in the book are top down patterns and use the magic loop method of knitting two socks simultaneously on one long (~40″) circular needle. The instructions are pretty clear. I knit the socks in  Berroco-Ultra-Alpaca-fine in the Redwood mix colorway on a US1 (2.5mm) needle. They required considerably less than one 400 meter skein.

Lessons I learned while knitting these:

  1. The first week of December is too late for me to begin knitting Christmas-gift socks on size 1 needles.
  2. Don’t try grafting toes for the first time when you are in a moving car and taking to your wife (or anyone else). Graft in a well lit room by yourself with a glass of wine or a cup of tea (or both; I like both).
  3. It’s easy to make sock blockers from coat hangers.
  4. I like two-at-a-time sock knitting. This method prevents “second sock syndrome” wherein the knitter loses interest after finishing the first sock. (I’ve knit several pairs of one-at-a-time socks and always finished my second socks, but I do get bored when I’m a few inches into the second sock.)
  5. I prefer toe up socks over top down socks.
  6. I’m not very good at avoiding tangles when I’m knitting from both ends of a ball.

    Rhianna likes the socks (and laundry):

    Hopefully Mom will like them, too (as a very late Christmas present; sorry, Mom).

    Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting, Pictures

    Tags: , ,

    You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

    5 Comments on “Mom’s (Christmas) Socks Finished!”

    1. susan Says:

      Beautiful socks! I just love the color, especially.

      I think wine and knitting are a great combo 🙂

    2. bpatricksullivan Says:

      Thanks, Susan! I’m totally with you on the wine, and with this yarn color, any unfortunate wine stains would probably be minimally visible 🙂

    3. susan Says:

      lol

      Invisible wine stains on a gift for MY mom would be totally appropriate (emphasis on the “invisible”.) Also, I just really like red.

    4. Melissa Says:

      I like 2-at-a-Time Sock knitting too… ; ) Nice Sugar Maples!

      • bpatricksullivan Says:

        Thanks, Melissa! Whoa, you are that Melissa! 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog.

        I didn’t know you had a blog, but I’m following it now. I’m excited to see that you’ve done a
        2-at-a-time toe-up book. When will it be out in stores?


    Leave a Reply

