The Brian Huang Collection

One of my friends and colleagues just had a son (congratulations, Yi-Min and Yu-Chien). Last week, Beth incredibly knitted two baby sweaters in two days each. The first and second adult sweaters that I’ve knitted took 2 years and 7 months, respectively…

Normally I don’t blog Beth’s knitted items. Instead I badger her to get a blog and blog them herself :-). However, I did some of the finishing work on these. So I feel alright about showing them off. The first one is Ribbed Baby Jacket by Debbie Bliss:

It is knitted in Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece on 4mm and 4.5mm needles. Beth added the stripes. I wasn’t sure about them at first, but I like them now that it’s finished. The pattern called for a button, but we didn’t have any buttons on hand, and I thought it would be cool to do a Chinese style “frog button.” I had never made one of these before, but I found instructions online to crochet one, and it was not too hard to learn:

Sewing it on was really the hardest part. Here is a detail of the collar.

The second sweater is Baby Sophisticate by Linden Down, knitted in Plymouth Yarn Encore Worsted on 6mm needles:

It is nice and soft. As the pattern name implies, this sweater looks kind of sophisticated–almost professorial–with its shawl collar. These awesome ducky buttons from our LYS, Spinning Yarns, make it look a little less serious:

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting, Pictures

2 Comments on “The Brian Huang Collection”

  1. Yi-Min Huang Says:

    These are really beautiful. Many thanks to Beth and you for the hard work. BTW, why it is called “frog” button?

    • bpatricksullivan Says:

      You are very welcome, Yi-Min! I have always wondered myself why it is called a frog button. I don’t know.


Leave a Reply

