Yes Sir, That’s my Baby

Some news is so big, it’s hard to figure how it best fits into a blog post, which is basically the only reason I haven’t blogged about it sooner. We’re having our first baby in August. I am excited to meet him. We had our first ultrasound this Thursday.  Above you can see our first view of the little guy with his little, revolutionary fist raised. He’s got a pretty beefy looking little bicep for a banana-sized person, don’t you think?

The ultrasound technology really amazed me. I hadn’t really researched what the ultrasound would look like before we went (which in retrospect kind of surprises me. I always research things!) Here is a movie of the 3D rendering. In this one he rubs his eye and touches his nose and cheek:

He weighs in at about 12 oz (0.34 kg). In this one I think it looks kind of like he’s laughing:

In the more traditional 2D ultra sound view, you can see his heart beating, and his spine. He kicks and wiggles around a bit:

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Yes Sir, That’s my Baby”

  1. kingshearte Says:

    Congratulations! Is he a he for sure, or is that just a generic pronoun?

  2. Susan Says:

    Wonderful news indeed! Many congratulations, and best of luck as you prepare for parenthood. Keep us in blogland updated, all right?

  3. Michael Says:

    Congrats you guys, that’s awesome.

    And yes, ultrasound is pretty sweet. I have to work hard to not ask the tech lots of geeky questions.

    • bpatricksullivan Says:

      Thanks, Michael! The ultrasound is impressive indeed. I just went ahead and asked all the geeky questions. It turned out the technician’s husband is a physicist too.

  4. Nathaniel Says:

    Huge congrats Brian. I won’t go too far into the cliches, but it’s a really amazing experience to have kids. Take lots of pictures.

    Do you like the “3D” ultrasounds? I liked the regular 2D ones better. The weird motion blur you get made me think too much about tortured souls in Dante’s Inferno. And that’s not a thought I wanted to think about my unborn child. 🙂

    • bpatricksullivan Says:

      Thanks, Nathaniel. I am pretty excited to be a dad. I was surprised that there wasn’t more blur in our 3D ultrasound. I guess I’m happy that we had both, but the 2D is undeniably superior in terms of sharpness and temporal resolution. I’ve seen some pretty good still images from the 3D rendering, but one must sort though a lot of stills to get a good one. (Isn’t that always the case though?) I hope you and your family are all well.


Leave a Reply

